The things I’ve learned about blogging by blogging

1: I hate the way the word “blogging” sounds in my head. It sounds like a medical condition.

2: It’s really easy to maintain the blog-work-life balance when you don’t have a job.

3: If you want views, write about tragedy. My most viewed post is about a miscarriage, and feeling like I don’t belong in academia is second. The two have 3x the views of all my other posts combined.

4: I have no focus whatsoever. I’ll occasionally try to get some kind of streak or theme going, and that it fails as soon as I notice the trend. I’m not that kind of blogger, and that’s…okay. I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and gosh darn it, people like me.

5: People constantly give unsolicited advice about how to write a “successful” blog. How is that even quantified? If it’s monetized? A certain number of hits per day? Consistency? Being search-engine optimized? It feels successful to me.

6: The more time you spend writing, the less you need to share. I think I’ve saved as many as I’ve published because I can’t figure out where they’re headed. I’ll eventually find the context.

7: Lists are great. They’re convenient, readable, and can be picked up pretty easily.

8: It’s a fun hobby. When you spend most of your writing time preparing for academic publication, it’s nice to have a place to write for yourself and your friends.

9: I never have the motivation to write on vacation, but look what I’m doing here, right now.

See y’all next week.

One thought on “The things I’ve learned about blogging by blogging

  1. Dee says:

    I’m so glad you are writing on your blog. I miss our chats at school a lot. Keep doing what you’re doing. I love reading what you write. I miss my school friends, you and Emily among them even more. I’m reading this book called Authors of the Impossible–the Paranormal and the Sacred about Fortean theories and Folklore. It would be ever so great if we could all get together and bounce things back and forth!

Leave a Reply

