A return?

It’s been almost three years since I wrote on this. It’s not like I haven’t done anything in the last three years, or had any ideas. I just never got around to writing them down. So, faithful readers, here’s an update for you. Shortly after my last post, I asked a woman to marry me. She said yes. I quit my job and moved to St Louis, where I lived with my closest friends. I worked at Target, got promoted to the Service Desk, and then management within a year. I got rid of my Eclipse and replaced it with a Tucson. I still miss my sports car. I was baptized and confirmed in the Catholic faith. I got married, and honeymooned in Branson. My intestines tried to kill me, so I had a major surgery. I moved to Utah, and started work on my MS in Folklore. I teach freshman and sophomore composition. I’m in the middle of writing my thesis, and I spend an inordinate amount of time bashing my head against the wall because the only words I can write have nothing to do with legend scholarship. I’m terrified of becoming one of those academics who writes books that nobody reads, and takes classes nobody remembers because I was so busy covering my ass that I forgot to give a shit about my audience. I bake less now, and I’m about halfway between my starting weight and my ideal weight. My wife and I are expecting our first child early in the Summer of 2014, and I have no idea if I’ll have a job then. I’m sure all talk about all of those some more down the road, so don’t worry if you find that you want more information.

3 thoughts on “A return?

  1. That’s a whole lot in 3 years! I can’t believe it’s been that long, and yet felt so short! Where is the time going??

    Nice job on the weight loss, my friend. You are kicking my distracted, undisciplined ass.

Leave a Reply

